Jan Jelinek:  Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records




Faitiche ist hocherfreut eine lang verschollenes Vinylalbum wiederveröffentlichen zu dürfen: Jan Jelineks Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records, 2001 auf  ~scape erschienen, war in den letzten vierzehn Jahren nur als Download erhältlich. Jetzt ist das Album erstmalig wieder als Vinyl verfügbar. Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records erscheint als Doppelvinyl und enthält zwei Bonustitel (B-Seite-Titel der EP Tendency aus dem Jahr 2000).




Format: 2 x 12” LP/DL

Label#: faitback01

Release date: April 28th 2017


Was die Presse über Loop-Finding-Jazz-Records schrieb:


“Don’t be misled by the title, though for there isn’t a finger-snapping rhythm c bebop lead anywhere on the album. Instead, Jelinek chooses to explore the visual effect moiré  - two shifting patterns creating an implied third dimension - in the audio realm.” (Alternative Press)


“The title acts as explanation for the studio technique that provided the basis for this album, snippets of other people’s arrangements deconstructed through a sampler into loops and then splashed onto an audio canvas.” (ATM)


“Jelinek’s sound evolved out of his dislike for (and inability to play) keyboards.”



“Jelinek has abstracted his sources beyond recognition, looping his millisecond samples into flickering patterns of sonic moiré laid atop a dub Techno framework. (...) Jelinek might as well have sampled a horn player’s hissing intake of breath – it would have been ‘jazz’ enough for his purposes.“

(The Wire)


“It’s a perfect inversion of conventional music, a sonic negative. Everything that would typically be foreground is moved back or pushed off the screen altogether, and the flecks of sonic debris that would normally be covered by other sounds are left to carry the melody and rhythm.”



“All you need to know is that these onomatopoeic non-specific songs (...) are warm, paradisical creations”.



“Listen carefully and you’ll hear textures slowly unfolding and mutating. Presuming you’ve not fallen asleep of course.”



“At times, it’s all a bit dripping tap Japanese water torture; so sedentary it drowns in its own motionlessness”



Loop Finding Jazz Records' is a genuine modern classic whose re-release is anything but a cynical mortgage repayment exercise. Consider this a second chance, then pretend you had it all along.”





“I’ve been fortunate enough to see Jan Jelinek live once, at Tonic NYC (...). Wearing a black and white striped shirt, he looked like a nihilistic Charlie Brown.”



01. Moiré (Piano & Organ) (6:54)

02. Rock In The Videoage (8:04)

03. They, Them (7:21)

04. Them, Their (5:06)

05. Moiré (Guitar & Horns) (6:37) - Bonus Title

06. Tendency (7:21)

07. Moiré (Strings) (6:26)

08. Do Dekor (5:35)

09. Drift (5:09)

10. Poren (6:49) - Bonus Title

2. Rock In The Videoage
7. Moiré (Strings)